Comprises local historical records, photographs and memorabilia
from Balnarring and surrounding district.
Open by appointment only.
Beleura House and Garden Beleura was built on the Mornington Peninsula in 1863 by Scottish immigrant James Butchart. It's final owner was the composer John Tallis who bequeathed Beleura to the people of Victoria as a memorial to his late father, Sir George Tallis, the well-known theatre entrepreneur and head of J.C. Williamson Ltd.
Today Beleura House and Garden is a place where people are welcomed, where talented young musicians are encouraged and where vignettes of the past offer an insight into the lives of previous generations. The house and its splendid grounds, interiors and archival material reflect the life and legacy of the Tallis family.
The Boon Wurrung Foundation is a Not For Profit organisation who represent the traditional people and custodians of the lands from the Werribee River to Wilson Promontory and we are proud members of the Kulin People.
The Briars Park features an Historic Homestead, out buildings and a 23 hectare Wildlife Reserve with Wetlands which are steeped in local history, flora and fauna.
The Briars homestead was completed in 1851 and occupied by Alexander Balcombe. After failing to find his fortune at the goldfields Balcombe farmed the land and tended 40 hectares of vineyards.
The Briars has a visitor’s centre, wildlife sanctuary, wetlands, gardens, nursery, vineyard, café, restaurant, kiosk and picnic areas. Activities include School Holiday Activities, Night Bush Walks, and the Eco Living Display Centre. Grounds and Briars Barn are available for Function Hire and wedding receptions. Several community events are held at the Briars during the year. Dogs are not permitted at the Briars.
Cape Schanck offers stunning landscapes; the mystery of dramatic volcanic features, unspoilt and wild beaches and scenic walking tracks with spectacular ocean views. It is also a site of rich European history with its heritage listed lighthouse precinct.
Follow the walking track from the carpark towards the Cape. This short circuit walk takes visitors to the start of the wooden staircase and boardwalk which descends to the beach and rock platform. Several lookouts have spectacular views over the geological formations called Pulpit Rock and the Devils Desk which were created over millions of years. Please take care on the rock platform as large unexpected waves may wash across the rocks.
The 2.6km Bushrangers Bay Track departs from the car park, providing some of the best coastal scenery near Melbourne. A guide to this nature walk is available at the Cape Schanck kiosk for a small fee.
The lightstation includes a lighthouse, museum and former lighthouse keeper's residence. The buildings were constructed from 1859 and are an excellent example of the architecture of the day. Built in 1859 from local limestone with its unique lantern, the lighthouse provides spectacular views of the Southern Peninsula coast and Bass Strait from the balcony.
Coolart Wetlands and Homestead is situated on the shores of Western Port Bay. It is an historic farming property with heritage buildings including the magnificent homestead which is surrounded by beautiful gardens and wetlands. Walking trails take you through the wetlands and woodlands where you can explore this tranquil property and its many different landscapes.
GARDEN WANDERS – Cruden Farm is open throughout the week from Monday to Thursday, 10.00am – 4.00pm, and we welcome visitors to meander around the magnificent property and enjoy the fruits of Dame Elisabeth’s 80 years of horticultural works. Bookings are essential on 9789 1676 (Garden Entry - $20 pp)
OPEN DAYS WITH GUIDED TOURS – Open Days at Cruden Farm offer a very relaxed and friendly Sunday experience. The property was left by Dame Elisabeth Murdoch for people to enjoy and consists of wondrous manicured gardens and peaceful walking areas, set amongst interesting bushland around the lake and the lagoon. The sights and scents at Cruden Farm alter dramatically throughout the seasons and there are many rare and old plants and trees to be discovered. You can pre-book a detailed garden tour or just bring a picnic and wander through Cruden Farm between 10.00am and 4.00pm on any Open Day.
(Pre-paid Garden Entry + Guided Tour $35 pp, or Garden Entry $20 pp).
The Dromana and District Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation of historical interests of Dromana and surrounding areas of Dromana, Main Ridge, Red Hill, Red Hill South, Safety Beach Arthurs Seat, McCrae, Rosebud and Boneo. The DDHS contains artefacts, memorabilia, photographs, records and oral history recordings from the central Mornington Peninsula area.
Open Sundays 2pm – 4pm first and third Sunday of the month.
The FDHS seeks to collect and conserve the local history of the Flinders District. It also makes this material accessible to current and future generations by publishing books, brochures and a regular newsletter with news and reviews from material held in the society archives. The photographs, maps and other documents provide an insight into past events and a context for current development in the Flinders district. The recording of the memories and accounts of members of our pioneering families and older people from the district is a particularly important and urgent task. The Society welcomes contributions of photos and family history documents relating to the Flinders District. The Society has a range of historical photographs and documents relating to Flinders, Shoreham, and the surrounding area.
New members of the Society are warmly welcome. Membership costs $20 per annum.
Please contact the Secretary by phone or email requesting an application form.
Frankston Historical Society is located at Ballam Park Homestead in Frankston.
The first Committee was formed in January 1961, with the backing of The Royal Historical Society of Victoria and Miss Nan McCelland, founder of McCelland Gallery Frankston.
The Society aims to preserve the history of Frankston.
We are a volunteer organisation and we both run and open the Ballam Park Homestead (1855)and the old Frankston Primary School House (1874) to the public. We cater to Schools and Community groups from all over Australia and overseas. We have a large collection of artefacts and memorabilia that showcase the homestead.
The Friends of Coolart Inc. is a volunteer organisation which supports Parks Victoria in the promotion, preservation and enhancement of the Coolart Wetlands and Homestead for its environmental, cultural and educational value to the community.
A committee of up to 12 volunteers manage the activities of the Friends. The committee meets regularly and our Annual General Meeting is held every twelve months, usually in February.
Many opportunities exist to volunteer in ongoing and one-off activities of the Friends including; providing support for environmental activities such as revegetation and bird surveys, fund raising through grant applications and assisting in the Friend’s shop, assisting the rangers, creating newsletters, curating historical records to name just a few.
Friends’ members receive a quarterly newsletter updating members on upcoming events, news, the work of the committee, news from the rangers and ways for members to become involved. We are always looking for more volunteers and we welcome any questions or suggestions as to how you would like to become involved.
Our Collection consists of the settlement site and monument, and a small number of relics recovered from the site such as wooden kegs, nails and shackles on display at the Nepean Historical Society.
The site is open at all times, tours by appointment. Relics are on display as per Nepean Historical Society opening hours.